Outsourcing in Netherlands


Capital: Amsterdam

Official EU language(s): Dutch

EU member country: since 1 January 1958

Currency: euro. The Netherlands adopted the euro on 1 January 1999.

Schengen: The Netherlands joined the Schengen area on 26 March 1995.

Figures: Geographical size – population – gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in PPS

Political system

The Netherlands operates as a parliamentary constitutional monarchy with a prime minister as the head of government and a monarch as the head of state. Executive power is vested in a council of ministers. The country is geographically divided into 12 provinces and 388 municipalities, with an additional division into 22 water districts responsible for water management. The Netherlands also includes 6 overseas countries and territories in the Caribbean, which are not part of the EU.

Trade and economy

In 2020, the Netherlands’ economy was primarily driven by public administration, defense, education, human health, and social work activities (21.7%), followed by wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation, and food services (20.4%), and professional, scientific, and technical activities; administrative and support service activities (14.7%).

Intra-EU trade constitutes 66% of the Netherlands’ exports, with major partners including Germany (23%), Belgium (10%), and France (9%). Outside the EU, 8% of exports are directed to the United States and 4% to the United Kingdom.

Imports mainly originate from EU Member States, accounting for 42%, with Germany (15%) and Belgium (8%) being significant contributors. Outside the EU, 17% of imports come from China and 8% from the United States.

The Netherlands in the EU

European Parliament

The Netherlands is represented by 29 members in the European Parliament.

European Parliament office in the Netherlands

Council of the EU

Dutch government representatives attend Council meetings to adopt EU laws and coordinate policies.

Presidency of the Council of the EU

The Netherlands held the Presidency of the Council of the EU during various periods, including from July to December 1960 and January to June 1986.

European Commission

Wopke Hoekstra, nominated by the Netherlands, serves as the Commissioner responsible for Climate Action in the European Commission.

European Economic & Social Committee

The Netherlands has 12 representatives on the European Economic and Social Committee, offering consultation on proposed laws affecting work and social situations.

European Committee of the Regions

The Netherlands has 12 representatives on the European Committee of the Regions, ensuring regional perspectives are considered in proposed laws.

Permanent representation to the EU

The Netherlands communicates with EU institutions through its permanent representation in Brussels, ensuring effective pursuit of the country’s interests and policies within the EU.

Budgets and Funding

The Netherlands’ contributions to the EU budget are determined based on its economic means, supporting various programs and projects across EU countries. The EU budget prioritizes the needs of Europeans as a whole.