Outsourcing in Ireland


Capital: Dublin

Official EU language(s): Irish, English

EU member country: since 1 January 1973

Currency: euro. Ireland has been part of the euro area since 1 January 1999.

Schengen: Ireland has opted out of the Schengen area.

Figures: Geographical size – population – gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in PPS

Political system

Ireland operates as a parliamentary republic, consisting of 26 counties. The prime minister, appointed by the president after nomination by the Lower House (Dail), holds executive power. The president, serving as the head of state, primarily holds ceremonial powers. The Parliament comprises two chambers, an Upper and Lower House.

Trade and economy

Key sectors of Ireland’s economy in 2020 included industry (38.3%), information and communication (17.4%), and public administration, defense, education, human health, and social work activities (10.5%).

In terms of trade, 41% of Ireland’s exports are within the EU, with Belgium and Germany being major partners (11% each), while 30% are exported to the United States and 9% to the United Kingdom.

Regarding imports, 38% originate from EU Member States, with France (11%) and Germany (9%) being significant contributors. Outside the EU, 27% of imports are from the United Kingdom, and 13% from the United States.

Ireland in the EU

European Parliament

Ireland is represented by 13 members in the European Parliament.

Council of the EU

Irish government representatives participate in Council meetings to adopt EU laws and coordinate policies.

Presidency of the Council of the EU

Ireland has held the Presidency of the Council of the EU during various periods, including January to June 1975, July to December 1979, July to December 1984, January to June 1990, July to December 1996, January to June 2004, and January to June 2013.

European Commission

Mairead McGuinness is the Commissioner nominated by Ireland to the European Commission, responsible for Financial Services, Financial Stability, and Capital Markets Union.

European Economic & Social Committee

Ireland is represented by 9 members on the European Economic and Social Committee, offering consultation on proposed laws affecting work and social situations.

European Committee of the Regions

Ireland has 8 representatives on the European Committee of the Regions, ensuring regional perspectives are considered in proposed laws.

Permanent representation to the EU

Ireland communicates with EU institutions through its permanent representation in Brussels, ensuring effective pursuit of the country’s interests and policies within the EU.

Budgets and Funding

Ireland’s contributions to the EU budget are determined fairly based on its economic means, supporting various programs and projects across EU countries. The EU budget prioritizes the needs of Europeans as a whole.