Outsourcing in Malta


Capital: Valletta

Official EU language(s): Maltese, English

EU member country: since 1 May 2004

Currency: euro. Malta adopted the euro on 1 January 2008.

Schengen: Malta joined the Schengen area on 21 December 2007.

Figures: Geographical size – population – gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in PPS

Political system

Malta functions as a single-chamber parliamentary republic with a prime minister as the head of government and a president as the head of state, primarily serving a ceremonial role. The country is geographically divided into 5 regions, each with its own regional committee acting as an intermediary between local and national governance.

Trade and economy

In 2020, Malta’s economy was primarily driven by public administration, defense, education, human health, and social work activities (18.3%), followed by professional, scientific, and technical activities; administrative and support service activities (17.3%), and wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation, and food services (14.0%).

Intra-EU trade accounts for 50% of Malta’s exports, with major partners including Germany (17%), France (9%), and Italy (7%). Outside the EU, 6% of exports are directed to both Singapore and Hong Kong.

Imports mainly originate from EU Member States, constituting 57%, with Italy (20%), Germany, and France (7% each) being significant contributors. Outside the EU, 8% of imports come from China and the United Kingdom.

Malta in the EU

European Parliament

Malta is represented by 6 members in the European Parliament.

Council of the EU

Maltese government representatives attend Council meetings to adopt EU laws and coordinate policies.

Presidency of the Council of the EU

Malta held the Presidency of the Council of the EU from January to June 2017.

European Commission

Helena Dalli, nominated by Malta, serves as the Commissioner responsible for Equality in the European Commission.

European Economic & Social Committee

Malta has 5 representatives on the European Economic and Social Committee, providing consultation on proposed laws affecting work and social situations.

European Committee of the Regions

Malta has 5 representatives on the European Committee of the Regions, ensuring regional perspectives are considered in proposed laws.

Permanent representation to the EU

Malta communicates with EU institutions through its permanent representation in Brussels, ensuring effective pursuit of the country’s interests and policies within the EU.

Budgets and Funding

Malta’s contributions to the EU budget are determined fairly based on its economic means, supporting various programs and projects across EU countries. The EU budget prioritizes the needs of Europeans as a whole.