Outsourcing in France


Capital: Paris

Official EU language(s): French

EU member country: since 1 January 1958

Currency: euro. France has been a member of the Eurozone since 1 January 1999.

Schengen: France has been part of the Schengen area since 26 March 1995.

Figures: Geographical size – population – gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in PPS

Political system

France operates as a semi-presidential republic, featuring a prime minister as the head of government, appointed by the president, who serves as the directly elected head of state. The country comprises 18 administrative regions, including 13 metropolitan regions (referred to as European France) and 5 overseas regions. All five overseas regions, along with Saint-Martin (a French territory in the Caribbean), are considered part of the EU, holding the status of outermost regions. Notably, Strasbourg, a city in France, is one of the three official seats of the European institutions, alongside Brussels and Luxembourg City.

Trade and economy

Key sectors of France’s economy in 2020 included public administration, defense, education, human health, and social work activities (23.4%), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation, and food services (16.4%), and professional, scientific, and technical activities; administrative and support service activities (14.2%).

Internally, 54% of France’s exports are traded within the EU, with Germany (15%), Italy (8%), and Belgium and Spain (7%) being primary destinations. Externally, 8% of exports go to the United States and 6% to the United Kingdom.

Regarding imports, 66% originate from EU Member States, with Germany (17%), Belgium (10%), and the Netherlands (9%) as major sources. Externally, 7% come from China and 5% from the United States.

France in the EU

European Parliament

France is represented by 79 members in the European Parliament.

Council of the EU

French government representatives attend Council meetings regularly to adopt EU laws and coordinate policies.

Presidency of the Council of the EU

France has held the Presidency of the Council of the EU during various periods, including January-June 1959, January-June 1962, and January-June 1965, among others.

European Commission

Thierry Breton serves as the Commissioner nominated by France to the European Commission, responsible for Internal Market. The Commission maintains representation in France.

European Economic & Social Committee

France is represented by 24 members on the European Economic and Social Committee, which offers consultation on proposed laws affecting work and social situations.

European Committee of the Regions

France has 24 representatives on the European Committee of the Regions, ensuring regional perspectives are considered in proposed laws.

Permanent representation to the EU

France communicates with EU institutions through its permanent representation in Brussels, ensuring effective pursuit of the country’s interests and policies within the EU.

Budgets and Funding

France’s contributions to the EU budget are determined fairly based on its economic means, supporting various programs and projects across EU countries. The EU budget prioritizes the needs of Europeans as a whole.